Employers, Take Note (Part 2): Michigan Sick-Time Mandate
By Beth Florkowski of Fausone Bohn, LLP posted in on Thursday, November 15, 2018.
Part 1 discussed Michigan’s minimum-wage increases beginning in 2019. Part 2 now discusses another new Michigan law: the Earned Sick Time Act. Similar to the minimum-wage increases, the sick-time changes will take effect around March 2019.
The Act creates two categories of employer: small businesses and businesses with 10 or more employees. Regardless of the employer’s size, employees must earn at least one hour of sick time for every 30 hours of work. Small-business employees aren’t entitled to use more than 40 hours of paid sick time per year. For all other employees, the limit is 72 hours per year. In either case, employers may allow a higher cap on sick-time use.
Earned sick time can be used for various reasons relating to the mental and physical health of employees or certain family members. Notably, earned time must carry over from year to year, but there’s no requirement that unused time be paid out when the employment relationship ends.
As with any law, there are plenty of exceptions and nuances. Make sure to seek professional advice to be certain a sick-time plan complies with the new law.